Directory of the American Matthay Association

TOBIAS MATTHAY opened his School of Pianoforte Playing in London in 1905. The Matthay School became famous and attracted students from all over the world. In 1925 the American Matthay Association was founded to promote Matthay's teaching principles in this country. During Matthay's lifetime the members of the Association were chosen by Mr. Matthay himself. Since his death in 1945 members include not only those who actually worked with Matthay, but also outstanding pianists who have studied extensively with one or more members of the Association.

The categories of membership are as follows (Click on a category for current roster and biographies):

Active Members $40.00

Active Membership includes voting privileges. Active Members are those who have been proposed by an Active Member, and/or those who have studied with a Matthay teacher and been approved by the Board of Governors, and by the current Membership at an annual meeting.

Click here to pay your annual dues of $40 online

Associate Members $40.00

Associate membership is open to those who wish to contribute to the work of the Association. Although this category does not include voting privileges, Associate Members receive the Matthay News and all mailings containing news of the Association. They may also attend annual Festivals at a special discounted rate. Those interested in Associate Membership are encouraged to contact the Treasurer, whose address is listed below.

Student Members $20.00

Patron $500.00

Friends of the Association

Although the "Friends" category of membership is no longer active, the Association values the continued support of the committed individuals whose names appear on this list.

All categories of membership are subject to approval by the Board of Governors. A subscription to the Matthay News is included with all forms of membership, and membership must be renewed annually by remittance of dues to the Treasurer. Billing is made in the Fall.

The Matthay News is published twice yearly: Fall/Winter and Spring/Summer. Change of address notification should be made to the Editor. The Editor welcomes articles, news items, and other material for possible inclusion in the News.

Officers of the American Matthay Association

If highlighted, click on name for biographical information

Dr. Steven H. Smith, President
2465 Buchenhorst Road
State College, PA 29201

Dr. Nicholas Susi, Vice-President
24 Govenors Hill
Columbia, SC 29206

Dr. Terry McRoberts, Secretary
319 Parker Drive
Jackson, TN 38305-9495

Fredrica Prior Phillips, Treasurer
19 Preston Way
Acton, MA 01720

Dr. Mary Pendleton-Hoffer, Editor of the Matthay News
405 E. Hermosa Circle
Tempe, AZ 85282

Jennifer Shoup, Archivist
Piano Prepartory School
41 Grange Hall Road
Beavercreek, OH 45430

Dr. Stephen Siek, Webmaster
7227 S. Bonarden Lane
Tempe, AZ 85283

Directors of the American Matthay Association

Dr. David Abbott
412 S. Clinton Street
Albion, MI 20850

Dr. Victoria Fischer Faw
Dept. of Music
Elon University
Elon, North Carolina 27244

Dr. Stewart Gordon
3242 Starline Drive
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275

Dr. Terry McRoberts
319 Parker Drive
Jackson, TN 38305-9495

Dr. Barton Moreau
3727 S. Centennial Way
Boise, ID 83706

Nancy A. Perrin
270 Banbury Road
Dayton, OH 45459

Back to American Matthay Association Home Page

© 2022 The American Matthay Association
No text from this web site may be used in other publications
without written permission from the American Matthay Association